Week 5: Want Tranquility? Believe in Yourself. Walk Your Path…

Image result for tranquility

“Tranquility and peace are found in identifying our path and in sticking to it: staying the course—making adjustments here and there, naturally—but ignoring the distracting sirens who beckon us to turn toward the rocks.”

– Ryan Holiday and Stephen Hanselman, from the book “The Daily Stoic”

“In Seneca’s essay on tranquility, he uses the Greek word, euthymia, which he defines as ‘believing in yourself and trusting that you are on the right path, and not being in doubt by following the myriad footpaths of those wandering in every direction.’ It is this state of mind, he says, that produces tranquility.

Clarity of vision allows us to have this belief. That’s not to say we’re always going to be 100 percent certain of everything, or that we even should be. Rather, it’s that we can rest assured we’re heading generally in the right direction—that we don’t need to constantly compare ourselves with other people or change our mind every three seconds based on new information.”

 

Image result for clarity of vision

That is the key, why is so important to define my DMP, having a cristal clear vision of myself and the life I want (and deserve?) to live.

I’ve been procrastinating, making excuses, delegating, making more excuses… That is my traditional blueprint that has put me in the position where I am right now.

Do I like the results?

Many people would say that I’m a very successful person: an attorney at law, who happens to be also a professional engineer, and a real estate broker… Writer, political analyst, father, brother ,husband, and son…

And yes, in many ways, I am, and I’ve been successful, but let be clear: I’m not happy with the results I have achieved so far.

Here is where MKMM Program is so important to me. It is a matter of surviving. Surviving myself from the dead of my future self. It’s a matter of shedding my old skin, which hath, too long, suffered the bruises of failure and the wounds of mediocrity, and born anew me.

Image result for clarity of vision

My actions are ruled by appetite, passion, prejudice, greed, love, fear, environment, habit, and the worst of these tyrants is habit. Therefore, if I must be a slave to habit let me be a slave to good habits. My bad habits must be destroyed and new furrows prepared for good seed. I form good habits and become their slave. And how I accomplish this difficult feat? Through the scrolls in Greatest Salesman in the World, By Og Mandino, it’s done, for each scroll contains a principle which drives a bad habit from my life and replace it with one which brings me closer to success. For it is another of nature’s laws that only a habit can subdue another habit. So, in order for these written words to perform their chosen task, I must discipline myself with the first of my new habits!

Image result for habits

2 thoughts on “Week 5: Want Tranquility? Believe in Yourself. Walk Your Path…

Leave a comment